Resolution to nullify Trump’s national emergency expected to pass

Resolution to nullify Trump’s national emergency expected to pass

On Thursday the Senate passed the resolution to nullify President Trump’s national emergency declaration. Republican Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Patrick Toomey (R-Pa.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) joined unified Democrat support in rebuking the president. The resolution is unlikely to overcome the anticipated presidential veto, which would require support from 8 other Republican senators.

Sens. Collins, Murkowski and Paul were early Republican supporters of the resolution. Sen. Tillis also advocated for the resolution, writing a Washington Post piece in February titled “I support Trump’s vision on border security. But I would vote against the emergency.” Tillis ultimately did not vote against the emergency.

Sen. Lee led compromise efforts to avoid the resolution passing, and put forth a bill to limit future emergency declarations. On Wednesday, President Trump squashed those efforts. Shortly thereafter Lee released a statement indicating he would be voting for the resolution “to terminate the latest emergency declaration.”

With hours to go before the vote, Sens. Alexander, Moran, Portman, Romney and Toomey announced their support of the resolution.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *